Rebuilding
It was becoming obvious that the congregation had outgrown its building, and plans were begun to build a Christian Education wing and improve the congested conditions caused by the single entrance on Inkerman Street.
It was becoming obvious that the congregation had outgrown its building, and plans were begun to build a Christian Education wing and improve the congested conditions caused by the single entrance on Inkerman Street.
Our first milestone
With 774 members in the congregation and 33 active in Church School, the 100th Anniversary of the congregation was celebrated.
With 774 members in the congregation and 33 active in Church School, the 100th Anniversary of the congregation was celebrated.
Relocating
Services were moved to the local movie theatre until the new (and somewhat smaller) building was opened in September 1941. The cost of $60,000 was paid off in three years, even though this was at the height of World War Two and money was extremely tight! Boys’ and Girls’ programs flourished during this period, and seven boys from this era of our church’s youth programming went into the ministry, and another became a Director of Church Music.
Services were moved to the local movie theatre until the new (and somewhat smaller) building was opened in September 1941. The cost of $60,000 was paid off in three years, even though this was at the height of World War Two and money was extremely tight! Boys’ and Girls’ programs flourished during this period, and seven boys from this era of our church’s youth programming went into the ministry, and another became a Director of Church Music.
The fire
The building was redecorated for its 50th Anniversary, but a tragic fire in 1940 completely destroyed the building. The fire changed everything. It not only changed the building physically, but the fire changed the thinking and the approach to the church. This is part of Trinity’s testament to care and compassion, to building and rebuilding. It inspired AV equipment to be added (at a much later date), and to have the new structure keep its original historic building and feel, but also commit to keep it running, renovated and up-to-date.
The building was redecorated for its 50th Anniversary, but a tragic fire in 1940 completely destroyed the building. The fire changed everything. It not only changed the building physically, but the fire changed the thinking and the approach to the church. This is part of Trinity’s testament to care and compassion, to building and rebuilding. It inspired AV equipment to be added (at a much later date), and to have the new structure keep its original historic building and feel, but also commit to keep it running, renovated and up-to-date.
A musical beginning
Percy Hoadley arrived as choir leader and organist, and within a few years had built up the regular choir, formed a men’s choir, and developed several male quartets which were in high demand around the area. Listowel United Church was known throughout Perth County for its high calibre of musical activity. And so began a long-lasting musical history in this church.
Percy Hoadley arrived as choir leader and organist, and within a few years had built up the regular choir, formed a men’s choir, and developed several male quartets which were in high demand around the area. Listowel United Church was known throughout Perth County for its high calibre of musical activity. And so began a long-lasting musical history in this church.
Joining of congregations
By this time, the uniting instincts of Canadian Christians were active with Methodists, Congregationalists, and most Presbyterians joining forces to become the United Church of Canada. The Listowel Methodist Church, renamed Listowel United Church, witnessed 400 people taking Communion on opening day. Membership stood at 723, with 464 in the Church School.
By this time, the uniting instincts of Canadian Christians were active with Methodists, Congregationalists, and most Presbyterians joining forces to become the United Church of Canada. The Listowel Methodist Church, renamed Listowel United Church, witnessed 400 people taking Communion on opening day. Membership stood at 723, with 464 in the Church School.
The start of our building
Six different congregations have contributed to the rich heritage which continues to shape Listowel’s Trinity United Church, but the T.U.C. as we know it today (on the corner of Inkerman and Barber) was completed by John and Jacob Large, building contractors who were members of the congregation. The total cost of the church building, sheds, lot and furnishings was $15,000. This so-called Listowel Methodist Church could hold 800 people in its sanctuary, including a circling balcony.
Six different congregations have contributed to the rich heritage which continues to shape Listowel’s Trinity United Church, but the T.U.C. as we know it today (on the corner of Inkerman and Barber) was completed by John and Jacob Large, building contractors who were members of the congregation. The total cost of the church building, sheds, lot and furnishings was $15,000. This so-called Listowel Methodist Church could hold 800 people in its sanctuary, including a circling balcony.